關於SARCOIDOSIS

本頁包含關於結節病的一般信息。有關特定類型的結節病的信息,請使用上面的菜單。每一例結節病都是獨一無二的,您應該向您的醫生諮詢您的治療計劃。以下信息基於證據,但不應作為醫療建議的替代。

此頁面上的信息是在結節病專家的幫助下編制的 K. Bechman博士J. Galloway博士,風濕病學,倫敦國王學院醫院。

什麼是結節病?

結節病是一種稱為肉芽腫的腫塊在體內不同部位發展的病症。這些肉芽腫由參與炎症的細胞簇組成。如果在器官中形成許多肉芽腫,它可以防止該器官正常工作。結節病可以影響身體的許多不同部位。它通常會影響肺部,但也會影響皮膚,眼睛,關節,神經系統,心臟和其他身體部位。

請從上面菜單欄上“信息”下的下拉菜單中選擇相關頁面,閱讀有關不同類型結節病的更多信息。

誰發展了結節病?

結節病經常被誤診為其他因素,並且對於有多少人患有這種病症存在分歧。但是我們知道結節病是罕見的。大多數專家都認為,英國每10,000人中就有1人患有結節病。每年在英國,大約有3,000到4,000人被診斷患有結節病。

結節病在男性和女性以及所有主要種族中都很普遍。有一些研究表明,女性比男性略多。我們自己的研究同意這一點 - 在SarcoidosisUK的社區調查中,69%的受訪者是女性,31%是男性(7,002名參與者)。

結節病可以在任何年齡發生,但通常影響30或40歲的成年人。我們社區調查中的4,833人告訴我們他們的年齡。數據表明結節病在所有年齡組中都很普遍 - 80%的病例在37到65歲之間。報告的平均年齡為50歲。(請注意,這些不是診斷時的年齡,而是報告時提供的年齡。)

經常引用 美國研究 他說,非洲和斯堪的納維亞遺產的人有更大的機會感染這種疾病,這意味著遺傳因素。

閱讀更多關於結節病...

語源學和結節病史

“結節病”這個詞來自希臘語 sarcο- 意思是“肉體”,後綴 - (e)中IDO 意思是“類似”,和 -sis,希臘語中的常見後綴,表示“條件”。因此,整個詞的意思是“一種類似於原始肉體的條件”。 

結腸病是由英國皮膚科醫生Jonathan Hutchinson博士於1877年首次描述為導致面部,手臂和手部出現紅色凸起皮疹的病症。 1909年至1910年間首次描述了結節病中的葡萄膜炎,後來在1915年,Schaumann博士強調,這是一種全身性疾病。

什麼原因導致結節病?

結節病的確切原因尚不清楚。到目前為止,尚未發現引發結節病的單一原因。它可能是遺傳,環境和傳染因素的罕見組合。某些家庭似乎確實存在這種情況。

結節病UK正在率先為醫學研究提供資金,以找出原因並找到治療方法。了解更多 結節病英國的研究.

許多網站聲稱了解結節病的原因,並會告訴你一種治療方法。在考慮替代療法之前,請務必諮詢您的醫生。

結節病的症狀有哪些?

結節病幾乎可以影響身體的任何部位。胸部的肺和淋巴腺最常見,影響10例結節病患者中的9例。

可能通常涉及的身體其他部位是身體其他部位的皮膚,眼睛和淋巴腺。

5個患者中有1個涉及關節,肌肉和骨骼。大約20名患者中涉及神經和神經系統。 50名患者中約有1人患有心髒病。

結節病的症狀取決於身體的哪個部位受到影響。它們可以包括:

  • 咳嗽
  • 感到氣喘吁籲
  • 紅色或痛苦的眼睛
  • 腫脹的腺體
  • 皮疹
  • 關節,肌肉或骨骼疼痛
  • 面部,手臂,腿部的麻木或虛弱

患有結節病的患者可能會感到疲倦和昏昏欲睡,減輕體重或患上發燒和盜汗。

有時,結節病的症狀突然開始,並且持續時間不長。在其他患者中,症狀可能逐漸發展並持續多年。

有些人根本沒有任何症狀,並且在進行常規胸部X光檢查或其他檢查後被告知患有結節病。

如何診斷結節病?

結節病很難診斷,因為這些症狀與其他疾病相似。沒有單一的測試來診斷結節病。

您的醫生詳細的病史和檢查是診斷結節病的最重要的第一步。他們將確定您身體的哪些部位可能受到影響。每個病例都是獨一無二的,但您可以期待醫生查看您的血細胞,鈣水平以及肝腎功能。他們也可能會給你一個呼吸測試來檢查你的肺部和心臟測試。這些都是非常標準的程序。

血液和尿液測試 您的醫生可能會安排一些血液和尿液測試來尋找炎症跡象,檢查您的腎臟和肝臟功能以及您的鈣水平。他們還可能檢查血液中的一種叫做血管緊張素轉換酶(ACE)的標記物,這種標記物有時會在結節病患者中出現。然而,升高的ACE水平不一定表明存在結節病。

如果您的醫生懷疑您的肺部可能受到影響,他們通常會安排胸部X光或CT掃描和呼吸測試,最常見的是肺活量測試和肺功能測試(PFT)。

掃描 您的醫生也可能會安排成像掃描(CT掃描或PET CT掃描)來尋找可能受到影響但可能不會引起任何症狀的身體其他部位。可以使用心電圖(ECG)或超聲心動圖(迴聲)掃描心臟。所有這些掃描都將尋找組織中的肉芽腫作為體徵或炎症。

活檢 為了明確診斷結節病,從炎症區域(肉芽腫)中取出組織樣本(活組織檢查)。

由於結節病可以影響身體的許多不同部位,您的醫生可能會要求其他專家(專門治療受結節病影響的身體部位)照顧您。

展望

結節病在大多數患者中自發消退。在其他情況下,病情可能持續但不需要治療。

在確實發展為更嚴重的“慢性”疾病形式的少數群體中,有時需要更積極和持久的治療。

更小比例的患者出現危及生命的症狀,特別是心臟或神經受累的患者。

1%-7%的患者死於結節病(這個數字根據所研究的人群和結節病的類型而有很大差異)。

健康生活

有時患者的症狀可能會突然惡化('突發')。這可能是由壓力,疾病或無法識別的事件引發的。確保你健康飲食,自我節奏,與朋友和家人交談,並認識到心理健康問題。結節病患者通常需要更多關於營養和飲食如何幫助他們的病情的信息。結節病UK認識到這是一個重要而復雜的問題 - 我們打算很快通過這個網站提供更明確的營養指導。請 聯繫SarcoidosisUK 尋求專業支持。

治療結節病

沒有已知的結節病治愈方法。在大約60%的患者中,該疾病可以自發消退,而不需要藥物治療。在這種情況下,您可能會發現您的醫生會在最初的幾個月內監控您。

對於1)有器官衰竭危險和/或2)經歷生活質量顯著損害的患者,有時需要治療。有時簡單的止痛藥(撲熱息痛或非甾體類抗炎藥,如布洛芬)可能有助於緩解症狀。

一些患者肯定需要治療,包括心臟和神經系統受累的患者。

皮質類固醇 用於通過減少受影響器官中的炎症來治療結節病。這些被稱為免疫藥物。最常用的皮質類固醇是潑尼松龍(潑尼鬆在美國)。這可以作為片劑服用或通過靜脈以更高劑量服用。潑尼松龍治療通常需要至少6至24個月。

有時皮質類固醇可能無效或引起嚴重的副作用。您的醫生應該與您討論類固醇治療的益處和副作用。副作用可能是主要的,可能包括血壓,糖尿病,骨質疏鬆症,體重增加和瘀傷。

免疫抑製劑 可單獨使用藥物作為替代藥物或聯合使用,以減少類固醇劑量。這些藥物最常見的是甲氨蝶呤,硫唑嘌呤或黴酚酸酯。

結節病的慢性病例通常可以通過藥物控制。在極少數情況下,一些患者需要氧氣和/或肺部移植。同樣很少,心臟或心臟附近的損傷可能需要心臟起搏器或其他治療。當眼睛和皮膚受結節病影響時,也可能需要其他治療。請使用上面的菜單查看特定頁面,了解有關特定類型結節病治療的更多信息。

來自SarcoidosisUK的相關內容:

結節病和肺

你有肺結節病嗎?結節病是否會影響您的肺部。點擊這裡了解更多。

結節病和皮膚

你有皮膚結節病嗎?結節性紅斑,紅斑狼瘡和病變是常見症狀。閱讀更多。

結節病和眼睛

大約一半的結節病患者會出現眼部症狀。了解更多關於結節病如何影響眼睛的信息。

結節病和關節,肌肉和骨骼

結節病會影響您的關節,肌肉或骨骼嗎?點擊下方查看更多信息。

結節病和神經系統

結節病可以影響神經系統(神經結節病)。點擊下方閱讀更多內容。

結節病和心髒病

結節病可直接或間接地影響心臟,因為肺部結節病。在這裡閱讀更多信息。

結節病和疲勞

你經歷過疲勞嗎?查找有關結節病和疲勞的症狀,治療和更多信息。

顧問目錄

你想找個顧問嗎?使用我們的目錄查找您附近的結節病專科醫生或診所。

結節病UK支持

我們怎能支持你?有關我們的護士幫助熱線,支持小組和在線支持的更多信息。

分享這個

ABOUT SARCOIDOSIS

This page contains general information about sarcoidosis. For information on specific types of sarcoidosis use the menu above. Every case of sarcoidosis is unique, and you should always consult your doctor about your treatment plan. The information below is based on evidence but should not be taken as a substitute for medical advice.

The information on this page has been compiled with the help of sarcoidosis specialists Dr K. Bechman and Dr J. Galloway, Rheumatology, Kings College Hospital, London.

What is Sarcoidosis?

Sarcoidosis is a condition where lumps called granulomas develop at different sites within the body. These granuloma are made up of clusters of cells involved in inflammation. If many granuloma form in an organ, it can prevent that organ from working properly. Sarcoidosis can affect many different parts of the body. It often affects the lungs but can also affect the skin, eyes, joints, nervous system, heart and other body parts.

Please read more information on different types of sarcoidosis by selecting the relevant page from the drop-down menu under ‘Information’ on the menu bar above.

Who Develops Sarcoidosis?

Sarcoidosis is often misdiagnosed as something else and there is disagreement about how many people live with the condition. However we know that sarcoidosis is rare. Most specialists agree that around 1 in every 10,000 people have sarcoidosis in the UK. Every year in the UK about 3,000 to 4,000 people are diagnosed with sarcoidosis.

Sarcoidosis is prevalent in both men and women as well as all major ethnicities. There has been some research suggesting that it is slightly more prevalent in women than men. Our own research agrees with that – in SarcoidosisUK’s community survey 69% of respondents were female and 31% were male (7,002 participants.)

Sarcoidosis can occur at any age, but commonly affects adults in their 30s or 40s. 4,833 individuals in our community survey told us their age. The data indicates that sarcoidosis is prevalent in all age groups – with 80% of cases being between 37 and 65. The average reported age was 50. (Please note these are not ages at diagnosis but ages provided at the time of the report.)

Frequently quoted American research says that people of African and Scandinavian heritage have a greater chance of contracting the condition, implying a genetic element.

Read More About Sarcoidosis…

Etymology and History of Sarcoidosis

The word “sarcoidosis” comes from Greek sarcο- meaning “flesh”, the suffix -(e)ido meaning ” resembles”, and -sis, a common suffix in Greek meaning “condition”. Thus the whole word means “a condition that resembles crude flesh”. 

Sarcoidosis was first described in 1877 by English dermatologist Dr. Jonathan Hutchinson as a condition causing red, raised rashes on the face, arms, and hands. Between 1909 and 1910 uveitis in sarcoidosis was first described, and later in 1915 it was emphasised, by Dr. Schaumann, that it was a systemic condition.

What causes Sarcoidosis?

The exact cause of sarcoidosis is not known. So far no single cause triggering sarcoidosis has been identified. It is probably a rare combination of genetic, environmental and infectious factors. The condition does seem to run in some families.

SarcoidosisUK is taking the lead in funding medical research to identify the causes and find a cure. Read more about SarcoidosisUK’s research.

A number of websites claim to understand the causes of sarcoidosis and will sell you a cure. Please always consult your doctor before considering an alternative therapy.

What are the Symptoms of Sarcoidosis?

Sarcoidosis can affect almost any part of the body. The lungs and lymph glands in the chest are most commonly involved, affecting 9 in 10 patients with sarcoidosis.

Other parts of the body that may be commonly involved are the skin, eyes and lymph glands elsewhere in the body.

The joints, muscles and bones are involved in 1 in 5 patients. The nerves and nervous system are involved in about 1 in 20 patients. The heart is involved in about 1 in 50 patients.

The symptoms of sarcoidosis depend on which part of the body is affected. They can include:

  • cough
  • feeling breathless
  • red or painful eyes
  • swollen glands
  • skin rashes
  • pain in joints, muscles or bones
  • numbness or weakness of the face, arms, legs

Patients with sarcoidosis may feel tired and lethargic, lose weight or suffer with fevers and night sweats.

Sometimes, the symptoms of sarcoidosis start suddenly and don’t last long. In other patients, the symptoms may develop gradually and last for many years.

Some people don’t have any symptoms at all and are told they have sarcoidosis after having a routine chest x-ray or other investigations.

How is Sarcoidosis Diagnosed?

Sarcoidosis is difficult to diagnose because the symptoms resemble other diseases. There is no single test to diagnose sarcoidosis.

A detailed history and examination by your physician is the most important first step in diagnosing sarcoidosis. They will determine which parts of your body may be affected. Every case is unique, but you can expect the doctor to look at your blood cells, calcium levels and liver and kidney function. They may also give you a breathing test to check your lungs, and heart tests. These are all very standard procedures.

Blood and urine tests Your physician may arrange some blood and urine tests to look for signs of inflammation, to check your kidney and liver function and your calcium levels. They may also check a marker in your blood called angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE), which is sometimes raised in patients with sarcoidosis. Raised ACE levels do not necessarily indicate the presence of sarcoidosis however.

Lungs If your physician suspects your lungs may be affected, they will usually arrange a chest x-ray or CT scan and breathing tests, most commonly spirometry test and pulmonary function test (PFT).

Scans Your physician may also arrange imaging scans (CT scan or PET CT scan) to look for other parts of your body that may be affected but might not be causing you any symptoms. The heart may be scanned using an electrocardiogram (ECG) or echocardiogram (echo). All these scans will look for granulomas in the tissue as signs or inflammation.

Biopsy In order to make a definite diagnosis of sarcoidosis a sample of tissue (biopsy) is taken from one of the areas of inflammation (granuloma).

As sarcoidosis can affect many different parts of the body, your physician may ask other specialists (who specialise in the part of your body affected by sarcoidosis) to look after you as well.

The Outlook

Sarcoidosis resolves spontaneously in most patients. In others, the condition may persist but does not require treatment.

In the minority that do develop a more serious ‘chronic’ form of the disease, more aggressive and prolonged treatment is sometimes required.

An even smaller proportion of patients present with life-threatening symptoms, particularly in those with heart or nerve involvement.

Between 1 – 7% of patients die from sarcoidosis (this figure varies widely depending on the population studied and type of sarcoidosis).

Healthy Living

Sometimes patients’ symptoms may suddenly get worse (‘flare-up’). This may be triggered by stress, illness or nothing recognisable. Make sure you eat healthily, pace yourself, talk to friends and family and recognise mental health problems. It is common for sarcoidosis patients to want more information on how nutrition and diet could help their condition. SarcoidosisUK recognise that this is an important and complicated issue – we intend to provide more evidenced nutritional guidance through this website very soon. Please contact SarcoidosisUK for professional support.

Treatment of Sarcoidosis

There is no known cure for sarcoidosis. The disease may resolve spontaneously without the need for medication in around 60% of patients. In this case you may find that your doctor will just monitor you for the first few months.

Treatment is sometimes necessary for patients who 1) are in danger of organ failure and / or 2) experience significant impairment of quality of life. Sometimes simple painkillers (paracetamol or non-steroidal anti-inflammatory such as ibuprofen) may help to ease the symptoms.

Some patients will definitely require treatment, including those with cardiac and neurological involvement.

Corticosteroids are used to treat sarcoidosis by reducing inflammation in the affected organ. These are known as immune medications. The most commonly used corticosteroid is prednisolone (prednisone in the USA). This can be taken as a tablet or given at a higher dose via a vein. Treatment with prednisolone is often required for at least 6 to 24 months.

Sometimes corticosteroids may not be effective, or cause serious side effects. Your doctor should discuss the benefits of steroid treatment, and the side effects, with you. Side effects may be major and can include blood pressure, diabetes, osteoporosis, weight gain, and bruising.

Immunosuppressant medications may be used, either alone as an alternative drug or in combination, to reduce the steroid dose. These medications are most commonly Methotrexate, Azathioprine or Mycophenolate.

Chronic cases of sarcoidosis can usually be controlled by drugs. In rare cases, some patients need oxygen and or lung transplants. Equally rarely, damage to or near the heart can require a pacemaker or other treatments. Other treatments may also be necessary when the eyes and skin are affected by sarcoidosis. Please check the specific pages using the menu above for more information on treatments for specific types of sarcoidosis.

Related content from SarcoidosisUK:

Sarcoidosis and the Lung

Do you have pulmonary sarcoidosis? Does sarcoidosis affect your lungs. Click here to learn more.

Sarcoidosis and the Skin

Do you have skin sarcoidosis? Erythema Nodosum, Lupus Pernio and Lesions are common signs. Read more.

Sarcoidosis and the Eye

About half of sarcoidosis patients experience eye symptoms. Read more about how sarcoidosis can affect the eye.

Sarcoidosis and the Joints, Muscles and Bones

Does sarcoidosis affect your joints, muscles or bones? Click below to find more information.

Sarcoidosis and the Nervous System

Sarcoidosis can affect the nervous system (neurosarcoidosis). Click below to read more.

Sarcoidosis and the Heart

Sarcoidosis can affect the heart directly and indirectly as a result of sarcoidosis in the lung. Read more info here.

Sarcoidosis and Fatigue

Do you experience fatigue? Find symptoms, treatment and more information about sarcoidosis and fatigue.

Consultant Directory

Do you want to find a consultant? Use our directory to find a sarcoidosis specialist or clinic near you.

SarcoidosisUK Support

How can we support you? Find more information on our Nurse Helpline, Support Groups and Online Support.

Share This